Felony DUI in California: What Can You Expect?
According to California law, driving while intoxicated is usually a misdemeanor crime, but in some situations, it can be charged as a felony offense. DUI can be classified as a felony if the convicted party has four or more DUIs within the last 10 years, has a prior felony DUI, has at least one minor in the vehicle, or caused injury to someone.
If any of these applies to you, it’s best to get in touch with the Law Office of Alessio Larrabee, a trusted DUI defense attorney in Red Bluff, California. Our legal team strives to defend clients convicted of a felony DUI and help them build a compelling case to reduce or dismiss their charges.
Penalties of a Felony DUI Conviction Under California Law
When charged with a felony DUI in California, you may face serious ramifications, such as:
- 16 months to 3 years in jail
- At least $1800 fines (including court assessments)
- 30-month court-mandated DUI program
- Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device in your vehicle
- 4-year driver’s license suspension
- Convicted felon status
While it’s easy to get overwhelmed with these penalties, you can protect yourself by hiring Alessio Larrabee as your criminal defense lawyer. As an experienced prosecutor for DUI cases, Alessio can represent your rights and help you make an informed decision to get a reduced charge.
Book a Free Consultation
A felony DUI in California may have major consequences on your permanent record, including earning a convicted felon status. At the Law Office of Alessio Larrabee, we can help you protect your rights and develop a strong defense strategy.